Mood

How are you supposed to know if your mood is real or the result of a chemical imbalance in your brain.  Isn’t there some way your brain could pop up a flashing neon sign that says “Not real, not real” when an intense emotion has you in it’s grip.  The full moon could be a sign, but no one has ever proven that.  It was orange last night, does that mean the anger I feel today is not actually my own, but the result of chemicals shifting like the tide?  When I am happy is it a brief dose of mania, should I not be happy?  I find myself tamping down all emotion for fear that it is not truly my own or that it is disproportionate to the situation.   When I am angry, should I really be angry?

One thought on “Mood

Leave a Reply

