Rediscovering Caffeine

Being caffeine free is a prerequisite for lap-band surgery.  Since I have decided not to go through with the surgery, today I had my first cup of coffee in months.  I knew coffee was the only thing keeping me going some days and my tiredness after stopping is one of the things that led to finding out my thyroid was scraping the bottom of the barrel.  In my near virgin system it truly is as effective as cocaine ever was.  Hence my second post today as well as the desire to bathe without being told and even enough energy not to take a second nap.  One cup, one cup of coffee can make me feel almost human again.  The stimulant effects of coffee are well known but I am shocked at the difference in my day. I will limit myself to just one cup a day because I have a tendency to over-do.

I have had a ten cup a day habit in the past.  That desire for more is a monkey I know I will never have off my back.  It has happily rode along through every addiction in my life, even coffee.  Everything is a potential addiction, my goal now is to make diet and exercise my new addiction-without overdoing it.  Although with a weight of 240 lbs at 5’4″ a little over-doing isn’t going to hurt.

2 thoughts on “Rediscovering Caffeine

  1. Oh, goodness. I can connect so many of your dots in this post.

    It will be hard to stick to one cup, but try. Our addictive natures always want more. And hopefully getting your thyroid up and running will help your metabolism in all ways.

    I considered gastric surgery, too, but my pdoc at the time was smart and very firm. He told me there was no way I could follow the diet, and he was absolutely right. I’m being treated for Compulsive Eating Disorder now (which has its own problems), but making progress on those invasive food thoughts.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

