What’s In A Name

I am thinking of changing the name of my blog from The Bipolar Homestead.  I started this blog when I was manic and I had this huge dream of homesteading.  It was going to be all about the journey.  Since my big breakdown about six years ago and after several further failures at life in general I have to let this dream go.  I don’t think it’s a good idea for me to have a bunch of responsibility because I tend to fall apart on a yearly basis. Every winter, sometimes lasting well into spring, a couple times lasting two or three years.  I’m not going to put all that on myself and watch it fall apart, especially when there are other living creatures involved.  *A memory surfaces*  I had a pet hamster when I was about ten years old.  I was just starting the yo-yo of bipolar cycles and I was really depressed, for the first time able to recognize it.  I couldn’t find the strength to feed him.  I would stare at the cage and think about it, know I should do it, but somehow just couldn’t.  I had a similar experience in my twenties with a pet tree frog.  I probably should not have a farm full of animals.  So what’s this blog about?  Well it’s about my journey, it has become my diary and a place where I am accepted by a community struggling with similar mental illnesses and even a couple docs.  It’s a place to share my failures and successes.  I may not get a lot of feedback but when I do, it’s just great.  So I am going to keep it up but definitly changing the name.

Leave a Reply

