Oh Boy, This Week

Well, things completely fell apart with the preteen, she crossed the line into rebellious teeneager mode and I couldn’t get her back.  My mom picked up on the struggle, how could she not?  Mom stepped up and started helping with discipline and interacting in a more parental role with the preteen, as well as papaw.  Wow! What a day and night difference.  She is back to her old happy self and respectful and thoughtful of others.  She is a brand new kid.  Mom is carrying the burden of morning routines, chores and homework, papaw is focusing on respectful behaviors and manners and I can finally take a breath and focus on quality time and the baby.  The whole dynamic of the house has changed but something had to, I was at a breaking point.  I am so grateful for the help, but a little salty that they could effect such a drastic change so quickly when I have been struggling with her for months.  The fact that they are willing to put forth such effort to help my struggling girl and ease my burdens just warms my heart.  What was the magic switch they flipped?  They sat her down and had a long talk about consequences for her behavior and took away all electronics indefinitely.  Maybe it was the fact that they had never taken such a role and she was shocked into reasonability, I don’t know, but I am grateful.  My mental state has greatly improved and I feel such a weight lifted from my shoulders.  I hope in my deepest heart that this lasts and things can go back to normal.  As normal as it gets around here.

In  my infinite wisdom and with a sound decision making history, (um) I enrolled in an online aromatherapy certification course.  Yep, nothing like adding a little high intensity distance learning to my already full plate.  I’m not sure what came over me.  I had looked into a nearby seminar on aromatherapy and wanted to take a four day weekend in march to go.  It was affordable, 900$, room and meals included. With a 35 hour training course for certification, NAHA approved and all that.  With the tumult in the home and a little one needing cared for, I just didn’t feel like I was going to be able to go.  I watched a webinar the night I decided I wasn’t going, it was for the Aromahead program.  Now I had seen it before but just felt the cost was prohibitive, 2000$.  I did a scant amount of research and decided to do it with their not as billfold burning payment plan.  Financially I am in over my head because with supplies its about 600$ every month.  300$ down then 300$ a month for six months just for the course and each lesson has about three hundred in supplies, namely oils, you need to buy.  If I do one lesson a month that’s 600$ a month. There were some incentives for signing up at the webinar, you know how they do.  Free bonus classes and a 250$ gift card for Aromatics International.  It greatly satisfied my bargain hunter soul. My husband is going to kill me.  There is no way, and no good reason, I can hide this from him.  Not that I would, but I have in the past made compulsive purchases that were swept under the rug.  This is not one of those instances.  But I did it, I signed up and am loving the course so far.  I just gotta figure out how to tell him.  Doing it today, I’ll let you know how it goes, if you never hear from me again, you know what happened.

Leave a Reply

